News and Events

Let's Know More About Siobhan Thompson

  • Posted

An introduction to Siobhan Thompson, Associate Solicitor

In work I am a Children Panel Member and Solicitor, whilst outside of work I am a family girl, bit of a thrill seeker and adrenaline junky. I love being adventurous, body building, music and travelling. My favourite part of my job is the advocacy work.

Your career to date…

I originally enrolled on the BVC with a view to going to the bar after completing mini pupillages whilst at university. I came over to the dark side after being offered a training contract and qualified as a solicitor instead as I liked the idea of being with a client from start to finish of a case.

I won the Hertfordshire Law Society Student of the Year award in 2010 after graduating with a distinction from BPP Law School and trained and practised at Machins Solicitors in Luton until joining Family Law Group. I became a member of the children panel at 2 years PQE and at my previous firm specialised in all aspects of family law including domestic violence, forced marriage protection, divorce, finances, private law children, public law and TOLATA. I have always had a fondness for trusts and so covered most of the TOLATA cases at my previous firm. I have always loved advocacy and have strived to undertake as much as possible throughout my career.

What do you look forward to in your role at Family Law Group?

Contributing to a growing firm and having a hand in growing the company, whilst passing on knowledge and skills to new solicitors.

What do you enjoy outside of work?

My biggest loves are music and travel. I go to a number of music festivals each year and like to travel off the grid when I can. I am a fitness nut and an amateur body builder, and I enjoy archery, skydiving and just being out and about, rambling, swimming and climbing. I also love cooking and baking (and it helps to be a bit of a fitness nut in light of that!).

Tell us something about you that we might not already know…

I have started lessons to learn to fly a plane and would love to achieve my pilot’s licence in the next 5 years. I have travelled around parts of India on a motorbike. I didn’t know how to ride one but learned fairly quickly!

What is on your to do list either for work or life in general?

In work, I aim to achieve everything I can and be at the top of my game. In life, I aim to see the world, enjoy my friends and family, achieve my pilot’s license, and one day operate a wing suit.